Valentina/ seamly2D

Hi, I have been using Valentina for a few months, and I am not sure to have understood the difference between Valentina and Seamly2D; does Seamly2D replaces Valentina ? Thank you for making it clear to me. Jeanne

1 Like

Hi Jeanne,

it is a bit confusing, yes.

As fas as I see it, there first was only Valentina. That program was made open source and people became involved and saw the immense potential it has. Somehow there were differences in how the further development should be, what features are useful and so on. And so about last summer the group of developers split - there are two forks now, based on the same program but probably developing into different directions.

This here is the Seamly2D-branch. As the split is still kind of fresh the two programs aren’t to different at the moment and so it is possible that we can help the users of Valentina, too. Also the webpages still have the Valentina in the name. Confusing, I know, but grown historically and not easy to change fast. As the Seamly2D-fork hat a lot of reconstruction of the program to do, as far as I see, there was a time after the split that the program still was named Valentina and there was no “real” Seamly2D-Version, but there is one out now; I am working with it. I only do not know whether it is considered as stable and linked on the webpage already.

There is the other branch, it has kept the name Valentina. There exists a webpage and a forum.

But no matter what, as far as I can help I don’t mind if you use Valentina or Seamly2D. As I am using Seamly2D and at the moment don’t have a working second OS on my PC, there might be questions regarding Valentina I cannot answer in future, also I only can write my tutorials for Seamly2D because I cannot do screenshots and such for the other fork.

Regarding your question