Elm-pat: What does one need to construct sewing patterns?

Hi,

some time ago I learned about constructing sewing patterns from body measurements and started working on a tool to be able to do these things using a GUI in the browser. Then I found out about Valentina/Seamly2D which seems to implement a lot of the needed functionality. I would like to continue with the work on my tool though, as I think the browser is a very good platform for such a tool. As I’m not an expert on sewing pattern creation at all, I’m reaching out to this community with some questions. :slight_smile:

• Are there any resources on what construction steps a sewing pattern program has to support? I have found GitHub - slspencer/tmtp for example, where there are a lot of helper functions like “create a point to the right of another point”, “give the intersection of these two lines”, … . Are the functions in there all one needs, or is there more?

• I also wonder if there is an exhaustive list of needed features? You certainly have to be able to construct points relative to each other. But then you also have to be able to connect them with lines/curves. I guess, there is more to this like adding seam allowance, adding darts, … ?

• Are there workflows specified for construction steps which have to be supported? I’m thinking for example about dart creation. I’m curious what a user interface should ideally look like to make creating these things as convenient and fail-safe as possible.

1 Like

Creating sewing patterns is a complicate process which is impossible to cover just answering a few question. Valentina/Seamly2D is not that new and still has a lot of issues, many of them are “not an expert on sewing pattern creation at all trying to make patternmaking software” issues

2 Likes